Makeover Monday: A Wonderful Christmas

What is Makeover Monday? Well, as I’ve mentioned in a number of my previous post, I have a habit of getting up on a Sunday morning and perusing YouTube in search of card making tutorials. I find myself getting lost in the search and watch video after video. There’s been a number of times when I’ve rushed down to my stamping room in my basement to create something I just viewed. Sometimes what I watched gives me inspiration to create something of my own and other times I CASE the card I just watched on video.

So, I’ve been thinking about what to post on my blog and to dedicate certain days of the week on specific topics. And, so I got thinking about “Makeover Mondays”. It not only can be used for my stamping projects, but any DIY project I may take on or even the numerous room makeovers I have on my project list.

The idea behind Makeover Mondays, stampin’ style, is that I will share a project I either recreated or used as inspiration to create my own project. For my first post, I’d like to introduce you to Brenda Keenan’s blog, Keenan Kreations.

One morning while I was on vacation, I sat and watched You Tube videos all morning. I just couldn’t stop. I searched Christmas card ideas and one video lead to the next, and I lost track of time. While I was perusing, I came across Brenda’s 100 Christmas Card Challenge and this video caught my eye. Then later that day, I headed to my craft room to get busy recreating the card and come up with this CASE’d card.


MM_Wonderful Christmas

I did change up the inside a little from Brenda’s original. I layered my inside to mimic the front side and heat embossed the Christmas ornaments on the tree with red glitter embossing powder. Then lastly I pierced a line of dots along the bottom edge of the white layer.

MM_wfulcmas inside

While I had my supplies out I made multiples of this card. I hate to make just one card, so most of the times I create at least 2, but often times I will make 4 or 6 of the same card. The reason behind my madness of the 4 or 6 cards is that if I decide not to use them for personal reasons, I can make a nice box set to either use as a gift or eventually maybe even set up an Etsy account and try and selling some of my creations. For now these cards all went into my Holiday Card Stash to send out this Christmas.

Stampin’ Supplies ~ Stamp Set: Festival of Trees; Cardstock/Ink: Cherry cobbler, old olive, whisper white, DSP (unknown company); Accessories: sequins, stampin dimensionals, tree punch, piercing mat and paper piercer, red glitter embossing powder, heat gun, multti medium matte. (most supplies are Stampin’ Up!)

Leave a Reply

