Monthly Holiday Card Stash: Mingle All the Way

HCS_Mingle all the WayWell, I’m a day late in posting my Monthly Holiday Card Stash series. Sorry about that, but I had a really hectic day yesterday filled with appointments and celebrations to attend, and I literally just ran out of hours in my day.

So, this month I’m keeping it pretty basic. For months I’ve been coveting Stampin’ Up’s Mingle All the Way set. It’s been on the clearance rack for some time now, and each week I’d see it sitting there and think, I really want the Mingle All the Way stamp, but I’m not wild about the others. Do I really want to pay $14.99 for just that one stamp? And, my answer would always be a resounding NO!

Well, one evening I jumped online to order a few things I wanted to get before my next club meeting, and once more I looked at that stamp set and thought to myself…do I or don’t I? So, like any good online shopper would do, I went researching. I needed to convince myself there was enough ways to use the other stamp sets and not just the one stamp. You can draw your own conclusion after seeing this month’s Holiday Stash card as to whether or not I found enough reasons, or did I just simply break down and buy it for the one stamp? I guess time will tell, but for now I will feature that one stamp I was coveting for so long.

This is really a pretty basic card layout with minimal stamping. So, let’s get started…

The card base is a 8.5″ x 5.5″ half sheet of Pear Pizzaz card stock scored at 4.25″ to make a regular A2 card. I then started with the inside first, cutting 10 layers of very vanilla card stock using my Sizzix Top Notez die. Stamp your greeting in cherry cobbler and attach finished layer to the inside of your cards.

HCS_July inside

Next up, I gathered my embossing folder, Fiskars border punch, some designer series paper (I grabbed my season of style paper pack from last year), my Mingle All the Way stamp, a scrap of shimmer paper I had, some rhinestones and paper trimmer and a way I went on cutting, embossing and punching my front card pieces.

HCS_Mingle all the Way

From one sheet of the designer series paper, I could get 3 strips. I trimmed the length of the paper down to 5.5″ first and then cut the width into three 1.5″ strips. Then border punched a 3/4″ strip of cherry cobbler card stock, and embossed a piece of old olive card stock measuring 3″ x 5.25″ with the Stylish Stripes folder from Stampin’ Up!. Lastly, I stamped my greeting onto shimmer paper in cherry cobbler and punched them all out with a 2.5″ circle punch. Once I had all my pieces, I assembled my pieces, added some bling and within a few minutes I had 10 holiday cards to add to my stash.

You could use this layout for a multitude of seasons and cards…perhaps use the other stamps in the Mingle All the Way set, swap out the colors and you could have yourself a quick and easy Halloween or Thanksgiving card. Really? you don’t say…well, as you can see I’ve already put another stamp to use from this set. Perhaps it was a good investment afterall. 🙂 Notice anything different with this layout?

HCS_Spooky

Mark your calendars for the next holiday card stash coming August 25th. Until then, I hope you’re enjoying your summer and creating something wonderful.

Leave a Reply

