A Little Kindness Goes a Long Way

Little Kindness_sneak peakHow often do we forget to say Thank You for the acts of kindness people share with us? I’ll be honest, I’m terrible at this sort of thing. I think about it, but I don’t often act upon it. And shame on me, because growing up, writing a thank you for something that was presented to you was ingrained to both my sister and I. It was just the polite thing to do, to let people know you appreciated their gift.

A few weeks ago after coming home from work on a Friday evening, I noticed one of the feral kittens we’ve been nurturing was badly injured. With it being after 6:00 in the evening, most of your vet offices are closed, and mine this time around was referring emergencies to another vet office altogether, because they had their offices shut down for the weekend for an open house they were holding on Saturday.

As you’ll learn in my post about “Lucy’s Story”, I drove to a local emergency vet hospital about 45 minutes away from where I live. I’ve had experience with this emergency service before, and have only good things to report. But the care in which we (my sister and I) received from the vet in charge that evening was superb. From her pleasant demeanor, to the calmness in handling the situation, to the full explanations she was giving us as she proceeded to fix Lucy up, was just exceptional. And, to express my gratitude for her service, I knew  the right thing to do was to send her a Thank You note. And, not just a random store bought thank you card, but something that I created and made from the heart.

Little Kindness

Don’t the colors just compliment the season? The inspiration for this card actually came from a couple of ideas I’ve viewed lately. When I first started creating this card, I had something totally different in mind. I didn’t have the exact stamp set as my inspiration piece, but I thought I had something similar that would work. Turned out…not so much. But I took the principal of the idea, changed stamps and all of a sudden created a piece of background paper, which really had I used a full sheet of white cardstock, I could have easily had a one sheet wonder on my hands.

And, the inside needs to be as special as the outside. Details…details…details. So I inserted a piece of parchment copy paper to write my note on and stamped the corner with the grid stamp and finished it off with a greeting.

Little Kindness_inside

Has someone done something nice for you lately? If so, don’t just say thanks…send them a thank you note too. In this fast-paced digital age, isn’t it still nice to get that special piece of snail mail? I know I sure do like those little surprises once in awhile.

Supplies ~ Stamps: Off the Grid, Lotus Blossum, Kinda Ecletic, Petite Petals, Baroque Motifs; Inks: Wild Wasabi, Summer Sun, Pale Plum and Rich Razzleberry; Cardstock: Wild Wasabi, Summer Sun, Pale Plum; Accessories: stampin’ dimensionals, petite petals punch, rhinestones, Prismacolor fine tip marker (.005), script embossing folder. All supplies are Stampin’ Up unless otherwise marked.

Leave a Reply

