Monthly Holiday Card Series: Glitter Trees and Washi Tape

Sneak Peak Glitter TreesAs I was putting together my glitter tree tutorial, inspiration struck again (rarely, does it strike twice in one night). I don’t know about you, but when it comes to the holiday season, I have all these great intentions of getting started early, yet I rarely end up doing so. But, tonight as I was putting the final touches on the card I was creating, I thought to myself, why not design one Christmas card per month and then create multiples of the same design. If I do this each month from now until September, and make 10 cards each month, I will have a nice little stash of Christmas cards to mail out for the holidays well before December 15th (my usual mailing date, if not later, and some years not at all). So, to keep me accountable, I decided to put a monthly Holiday Card Series together and post it on the 25th of each month.

The number of cards I decided to create each month was inspiration from Brandy’s 10 cards in 20 minute video, where she used the All is Calm washi tape and tree punch from last year’s Stampin’ Up! Holiday mini catalog.

I just love washi tape…any time I can use it to create a card, I’m grabbing it and going to town. And, usually multi-card production is fairly quick and simple. So, I decided I’d give it a whirl and try making 10 cards in 20 minutes. Now, the secret of getting your cards all created in 20 minutes or less, is by prepping all your materials first. So, I made all my glitter trees, then I cut up all my cardstock, scored the card bases and then lined everything up to start stamping and putting the cards together.

Then I set my timer and off I started on creating 10 of this super easy card…

Holiday 25_Glitter Tree

  1. First, I folded all my card bases.HCS_getting started
  2. Stamp the back of your card with your credentials…you want everyone to know you handstamped this yourself.
  3. Then, I stamped the inside greeting and added a strip of washi tape underneath.HCS_inside
  4. Now, get busy pulling, tearing, and placing strips of washi tape to each of the whisper white layers (3.75″x4.75″). Once you have all the washi tape quarter sheets finished, attach each to the lost lagoon layer (4″x5″).HCS_ washi stripsThen attach the completed layer to the card front using dimensionals.HCS_lagoon layer
  5. Stamp “A Merry Little Wish” greeting in the center of a small banner strip (3/8″ x 3″). To create the flag end, take a star punch and using one of the star points, punch a notch in the banner. Place the greeting banner on the lower third of the card front with dimensionals and then “pop” that pretty silver glitter tree you made to the front of the card.HCS_glitter tree cards
  6. For sparkle, I added several small silver sequins using Ranger’s Multi Medium Matte. It’s a quick setting/drying adhesive that works wonders on gems and dries clear.HCS_compelete card

And, in 20 minutes (well, maybe a little longer than 20 minutes…it looks easier than it actually is) I have created the first batch of holiday cards I will mail out to my friends and family right after Thanksgiving this year! Now, I challenge you to get a jump start on your holiday card making. If you decide to play along, please leave a comment below and share a link to your blog or gallery for all to see what you’ve created.

The holiday countdown is on…only 213 days until Christmas. Will you be ready early this year?

SUPPLIES ~ Stamp Set: Stampin’ Up! Festival of Trees; Ink: Encore Ultimate Metallic in green; Cardstock: SU Whisper white and Lost Lagoon, silver metallic; Accessories: All is Calm washi tape, silver sequins, rhinestone, glitter, multi medium matte, dimensionals, Martha Stewart Hydrangea punch, SU tree punch, Xyron create-a-sticker machine.

Leave a Reply

