The Art of Improvising

Sneak Peak Glitter TreesI’m sure many of you are just like me – you’re surfing around the net, checking out your favorite blogs, and you come across a card idea you really like and it gives you inspiration to create the same thing or something similar, but lo and behold, you don’t have just the right supplies as your inspiration piece. What do you do? For the most part, we run out to our favorite hobby store to purchase said items or hop online and place an order and express ship it, so we can get to creating right away. Am I right?

Well, not always do we have to run to the hobby and craft store or jump online to make that “I’ve got to have it” purchase. Instead, you can root through your stash and find ingredients to improvise.

Blogging has helped inspire me and has got me stamping on my own much more regularly than I have in years. After a long week of work, I find that coming home and sitting down in my craft room is just the diversion I need to whisk me away from my 9 to 5 job, and into weekend relaxation mode.

I really didn’t have any intention of stamping today, but I popped onto the computer and got wrapped up watching some YouTube card tutorial videos and I came across a video featuring how to make 10 cards in 20 minutes and the focus was on holiday cards (which I will share in my next post…I’ll get to the point her in a sec).  Anyhow, part of the card inspiration included the Festival of Trees punch from lasts season’s Stampin’ Up! Holiday Mini catalog. And the demonstrator used SU’s silver glitter paper to make the trees. Well, I don’t have silver glitter paper. I have red, but I don’t think trees will look right in red considering the color combination I was about to use.

So, I got to digging around in my stash of supplies and came across a silver metallic cardstock. At first, I thought this will work, it’s pretty…it’s shimmery…it glistens, but it’s missing glitter. And then the light bulb went off inside my head. I can improvise and turn this metallic silver cardstock into silver glitter trees. And, here’s how I did it.

SUPPLIES:

  • Silver Metallic Cardstock
  • Stampin’ Up! Iridescent Glitter
  • Xyron Create-a-Sticker machine
  • Permanent adhesive
  • Festival of Trees punch
  • Small flower punch
  • Lost Lagoon cardstock (or whatever color you choose as an accent)
  • Rhinestones

Glitter Trees Tutorial_3

From one sheet of 8.5″ x 11″ sheet of cardstock, I punched out twenty trees.

With the metallic side down, I placed each tree into the Xyron sticker machine and pulled it through to apply adhesive to the front of the tree.

Glitter Trees Tutorial_4

After you have run all the trees through the sticker machine, be sure to burnish the adhesive into the cardstock before peeling the protective paper away.

Glitter Trees Tutorial_5

Remove each tree from the sticker strip and place into a tub of iridescent glitter, adhesive side down.

Press the glitter into the adhesive and remove any excess glue and glitter from the tree.

Glitter Trees Tutorial_7

Viola…silver glitter trees! Add a small lost lagoon flower bud to the bottom corner of the tree and place a rhinestone in the center of the flower, and you now have your trees ready for your holiday card project.

Be sure to stop back on the 25th as I debut my monthly Holiday Card Series using these shimmery silver glitter trees! Here’s a sneak peak of the first card in my series.

Sneak Peak Glitter Trees

Leave a Reply

